72 Hours Season 1 Episode 7 Review (My Episode)

72 Hours Season 1 Episode 7 Review -“Fijian Jungle” – Friday, July 19, at 10 p.m. (ET/PT)

Helicoptered into the humid but stunning jungles of Fiji, three teams composed of three strangers must navigate themselves through impenetrable dense rain forests and sky-scraping mountainous peaks in order to locate a briefcase full of cash in just 72 hours. All they have to accompany them in their quest for $100,000 are their teammates, the clothes on their backs, a GPS and one bottle of water(per person).  

RED TEAM
Kristin, 43, branding consultant, San Francisco, Calif.
Michael, 40, hotel concierge, Sherman Oaks, Calif.
Rita, 29, Alaskan river guide, Annville, Penn.

BLUE TEAM
Wade, 24, ad sales director, Bozeman, Mont.
Shelby, 23, financial analyst, Chicago, Ill.
Grace, 22, marketing coordinator, Phoenix, Ariz.

GREEN TEAM

E.J., 48, retired Army sergeant major, Fayetteville, N.C.
Andrea, 30, substitute teacher, Marietta, Ga
Dameon, 39, musician, Los Alamos, N.M.

72 Hours Fijian Jungle - Rita

This is the hardest review I’ve had to write yet. Obviously that’s because it’s a reality show, and I know the true reality since I was there…You don’t, however, and that makes it difficult, since I’m not sitting in front of a television to compare my facts with the edited version, only a notepad, where I took crude notes while watching the show earlier.

I stand by my opinion that it’s ridiculous to cram 4 days 3 nights of filming into 1 hour laden with commercials, split between 3 teams. This show could have easily been a to-be-continued-type 2 or even 3 hour suspenseful show.

So, let’s see…the basic race was set in what the producers and Brandon call the “toughest terrain yet” for the competition series. We were told before hand that they saved the best athletes for this episode. Each team seemed like it was set up with AT LEAST one survivalist…or one guy who at least was a proactive leader, and aside of Green Machine’s Flat Tire, Andrea, and Red Team’s Lying, Sniveling, Sabotaging Non-Navigator, Mike, everyone seemed to be in pretty decent shape.

Even though I was obviously on the red team, I was torn between wanting green and red to win while watching the show. I mean, really. E.J. CARRIED Andrea over his shoulder while I carried Mike….who only was leaning heavily on mine. I thought that was interesting cinematography, while a big guy is carrying a tiny girl, a tiny girl is carrying a dude who is bigger than her, who lied bold-faced to her, and who outright tried to sabotage the team.

So, the show. The river. I fell out. At my viewing party, we laughed really hard at the editing, because if you check out where I fell, there’s absolutely no white water. So there I am, “flailing and flailing” in still, slow moving water after an intense shot of gurgling bubbling white water…it is indeed ironic and hilarious. 🙂

Blue hits every one of the check points first. I’m not sure they ever lost the lead. The idea of fishing on the first night was logical. Definitely not a bad idea…no nearly as bad as drinking that river water. There was some serious comic relief when Grace asks, “Do you think the other teams are doing this?”

No. They weren’t. They were purifying water by boiling it. OR they were getting relief drops (which include 5 gallons of water).

Suddenly, you hear, “This is the lowest I ever felt.” (I included the grammatical error, because that’s what I heard). AND the puking commences. It’s like the episode in Family Guy where they drink Ipecac Syrup to compete for pie.

OK. OK. OK. It wasn’t THAT bad, but man, we watched the clip of Family Guy like 10 times laughing at the way it was put together.

So blue is puking everywhere, while red is following the liar into a dead-end. huh. Meanwhile Green machine is trying to repump their flat tire while screaming out tough guy army things. 🙂

Seriously…should have been a longer show.

Incredibly, E.J. is featured eating a slug in FIJI…a slug that doesn’t make him sick at all. I’m very happy that is the case, since he’s a super cool guy, and I’d have been devastated if anyone but me had gotten sick. I’m very disturbed, however, that it seems to be promoted on the show as a safe way to do things in the jungle.

It is NOT a safe route AT ALL. The slug I ate proved it. Brandon, maybe you should include that in your next interview with whomever. Slugs are NOT safe to eat raw! Get it right!

Slugs and snails can carry RAT LUNGWORM, people! No matter where you eat it! Cook it! NOT a smart move. Obviously I made the same mistake, and paid dearly for it.

So it comes down towards the end of the race. Green Machine has broken down…the tire is flat and unresponsive.

It’s down to Blue and Red! Woah! After being detoured by a douchey dude from LA, the ladies make up speed and drag him along for the ride while we stalk blue team for the money.

Then Mr. “I don’t think I could get lost” runs out of gas. Dammit.

So, Blue Team gets their hands on the cash, and red team is shot sitting down bumming out.

OK…now for teams.

First Blue.

Wade – You pulled more than your share, but since you were “the man of the group” I guess that ended up being expected? 🙂 Nice idea with fishing. Great job motivating the ladies. It was amazing that you guys went for the last two days without a single drop of water. Nice job, camels! 😀

Shelby, way to push towards the ocean! Scary times are those when you begin to smell and hear things that aren’t there. Nicely done not losing it in that moment. They did well making the moment comical for the viewer.

Grace, man they got a lot of nasty quips from you about Wade. I’m sure there was much more to say about the man. 🙂 Much more that you probably said, too.  Nicely done keeping up. “I live by the ocean.” “Do you know how BIG the ocean is?” <–Great moments.

Green Team

E.J. Of course you led them, and you led them well. GREEN MACHINE! Ummm…Apparently you guys were the only team to get food the entire race. That’s an intense race! 😀 No more uncooked slug consumption or you could be paralyzed. You’re an animal, unpinning the bamboo raft from the rock and carrying your dead weight up a mountain.

Andrea…Don’t do a competition like this again, unless you…no…just don’t. You belong behind a desk.

Dameon, I like you! It’s a bummer we didn’t get to see more of you! Good job taking care of Andrea and pushing on!

Red Team

Hmmm…this one’s a toughie. I don’t like to hold grudges, but Mike…I don’t hate you, nor do I even think of you outside of this review, but I wouldn’t lose sleep if I never saw you again in this or subsequent lifetimes. You lied, cheated, and stole from your OWN TEAM (not that doing that to others would be allowed either). You knew why we were there, because Kristin wanted to be able to adopt a child, and I wanted to get my brother an epic wheel chair and still you looked at me and used my brother’s name in vain in order to get us off track, acting like you were doing the right thing. You deserved much worse, but I guess that’s the way the cookie crumbles. The show’s editing saved your life, I’m sure of it. I hope no “lady” gets caught in that web EVER. I honestly wonder if you were an actor added to the team, simply to sabotage us, since you didn’t do anything to assist, and your choices were so cruel.

Kristin, I wanted you on my team from the first moment I saw you.  I’m stoked you were. Running up that bamboo ridge with you was AWESOME! Running along the grassy ridge with you was AWESOME! Rock hopping in the River with you was AWESOME! Eating with you…wait..no…apparently we didn’t eat… anything…Being in shelter with you on nice padded duff…wait…I guess we only did that one night? I loved the moment when you made Mike shut up, because his deal was to NOT TALK ANYMORE FOR THE REST OF THE JOURNEY IF WE FOLLOWED WHAT TURNED OUT TO BE HIS BOLD FACED LIE.  Ultimately, I’d love to do the Amazing Race or just a random scavenger hunt with you someday!

Rita….huh. That’s me…the 8.5 YEAR WOUNDED VETERAN that has been in two wars, survival school, and then sold everything and drove to Alaska. Interesting that they left out the veteran part the entire show…and most things survival related. Eh. No biggie though. I’m not sure what to say about myself. I shouldn’t have listened to Mike. The first time, where it seemed like I was siding with him…I wasn’t. I was just directing us the correct way to go. The second time…he lied to my face and continued lying the ENTIRE way until it was finally brought out in front of the camera that he sabotaged us and cost us A LOT of time. Did anyone notice how large the red thing on my back was? I’m not sure what was in it…or how I got it…but yeah, apparently I carried a decent amount of weight the entire time…oh…and in Five fingers.

I liked the “I have a God D*mn MACHETE” clip! 😀

There you have it, folks! Comment on! 

 

 

 

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

28 Responses to 72 Hours Season 1 Episode 7 Review (My Episode)

  1. Junito Santiago July 21, 2013 at 1:54 PM #

    Hmmmmm….where do i begin? Well lets start by saying, i’m all for the Red Team! Being, that slugs move slowly and one was carried by my dear friend, who not only works hard on a day to day basis, but only STANDS for what she believes in. I believe Mike has no idea of the intellects of surviving, which makes things difficult for the rest of the team, Whom are willing to take on the course of nature and actually willing to sacrifice and take on the beautiful jungles of Fiji. Perhaps the tables were turned, maybe the slug would have grown a pair of legs and wouldn’t have been carried. Well, i guess we shall see. But what i do know, is that it takes indeed knowledge of surviving and training to defeat the obstacles that are placed forth in front of us, in which this case stagnation played a major part within the show, not only did the team do well, but expressed an showed the viewers who truly were the WINNERS! Its a shame how tv points are made by adding individuals who lack the common knowledge, and of course will not give credit to the true survivors. Not that money matters, but it was the point of the show and it just shows how greed gets to individuals and they purposely LIE, to get what they want. With this being said, its a Hurricane( Rita) Season.

    • Hurricane Rita July 22, 2013 at 9:31 AM #

      HAHA! I used that last night around the fire pit. My friend asked genuinely when hurricane season was. I quipped, immediately, “ALWAYS!!!” HA! You rock, Junito! Thanks for the kind thoughts. The money would have been nice, but man, the experience was rich enough in itself!!! I feel like I won a million bucks….sucks that after you win a million bucks, you don’t generally have to learn to walk, poop, and pee again, but whatever! 😀

  2. Don Poling July 21, 2013 at 6:59 PM #

    ROFL – That “Family Guy” episode looked so juvenile that I had no idea it would give me my best (only) totally uncontrolled laughter of the week! You never could have found out by quizzing me before hand that I’d have found it funny but I was curious 🙂

    I am curious about Eric’s motivation; I’m assuming the lie was about seeing the supply drop flag down below on the river. Was he acting out a macho man leader role based on some psychological problem or was he just incompetent? When he remarked on camera “now I just have to get Rita under my thumb” we were incredulous, going “No way!!” I’m assuming the other lie was his claim to having GPS tracking abilities. Did I get that right or did I miss something?

    • Hurricane Rita July 22, 2013 at 9:37 AM #

      The lie was about the flag on the river. He refused to move the way we wanted him to go…the logical, ridgeline so you can see the terrain, type direction. He “scouted” his route and SWORE he saw a flag on river left around the bend to the right, but there was no flag. It was on high ground. There was also no clear passage through the water, without submersing ourselves and our gear completely. He swore on my brother’s name and the wheel chair that I wanted to get for him. Psychological problem, probably, but not ok. He cost us hours that Kristin and I had to make up. He probably lied about everything. The “under my thumb” comment…I hadn’t known about that until the episode. My jaw dropped before I laughed hysterically. He didn’t do anything competent or with ability other than talk shit and try to argue with Kristin.

  3. Don Poling July 21, 2013 at 7:01 PM #

    OOps! I meant “Mike.”

    • Hurricane Rita July 22, 2013 at 9:28 AM #

      I was starting to think Eric was his other personality or something. 🙂

  4. Holly Jo July 21, 2013 at 8:59 PM #

    Great review – loved the show but wanted to see more. Like you said, could have been 3 episodes at least. Not happy about Mike… I felt he may have been added to sabotage the red team as well. He had to know his lies would cost him the prize. Blue teams barf scene was comical, and yet they still pulled it off. I also laughed at the cut between the green machine carrying the gal over his shoulder and then you supporting Mike. It made a big statement to your kind spirit that you would do that for him after all he did to make you fail. That part showed you as a real leader and winner in my book. Great job. Now I want to watch the more intriguing after show of your lives post 72 hours please.

    • Hurricane Rita July 22, 2013 at 9:18 AM #

      Thanks, Holly Jo! Thanks for the video as well! It brought me to tears to see everyone at the Pioneer Bar rooting for red team all the way from Alaska! So very, very cool. I will focus on our lives after 72 Hours very soon…there’s some stuff to write about NC also…you know romantic kayaking, waterfall finding type fun stuff!

  5. Jessica Bortz July 21, 2013 at 10:04 PM #

    Loved the show… I laughed, I cried and i wish there was more… Loved the part about the Machete.. and of course at the end when you helped Mike up the hill… It just shows the kind of person you are… <3… Would love if they would show the uncut version of the show.. Can't wait to see you on another adventure..

    • Hurricane Rita July 22, 2013 at 9:47 AM #

      I know! They should totally do an extended version! I laughed my ass off, shed a tear, and even almost felt a tiny flicker of anger when I remembered what he did. 🙂 Thank you for watching!!! Tell TNT you want more!!! 😀

  6. Paula Lowrie July 22, 2013 at 9:27 AM #

    Good review, Rita!! After watching the show it occurred to me also that so little of your ordeal was actually shown. I wished as you said that it had been like a mini-series or something, because I know the audience missed out on a lot. Oh well, I continue to look forward to your posts and wish you the best of everything in life!!

    • Hurricane Rita July 22, 2013 at 9:50 AM #

      A TON was missing. It was for each team. How do you tell a story that happened with that much detail and “drama” over the course of that many days, with a team of cameramen that are trying to capture hours and hours of film…in 40 minutes? Eh. I realized it would be missing a ton of info when they originally told me it was an hour show. The posts will continue! Thank you for following the storm!

  7. Lewis Nelson July 22, 2013 at 6:49 PM #

    Rita! First… sorry you didn’t win that cash — especially with what you endured for the opportunity (both during and after). Second… it was AWESOME to see you again, even if it had to be highly edited TV.. I miss you and seeing brought back so many memories of how hardcore and real you are while still being a sweet person and good friend.

    The show did prove one thing.. it wasn’t skill that won, it was youth!!! Must note that throughout the entire show, it was you, Kristin, E.J. and Dameon that never once looked tired, beaten, or weak — but that didn’t matter in the end due to the lowest common denominator. I hope you’re extremely proud of what you did out there — the world is missing out by not getting more of the story… which is why I’m glad this blog exists!

    By the way — a few highlights for me — funniest two lines of the show were when you fell out of the raft… both Mike’s comment and Kristin’s. When did they film these outtakes and interviews? Was it near the time the event happened or afterwards? By the way Holly, a former river guide as you may or may not know, laughed at the irony. Next highlight.. definitely the puking. Next highlight… Wade making a fire while Shelby and Grace are just straight chillin.

    You showed the straight up best survival skills on the episode by boiling the water — I’m so fricken sorry you got paired with a weak-ass drama boy that thought he was on Real World vs being in the real world. I think it’s time we start a fund for your brother.. I will try to unite the soldiers that served with you (still can’t believe they edited out your military history) to help you out somehow… first donation from me — just tell me where to send it.

    • Hurricane Rita July 23, 2013 at 11:36 PM #

      Mike’s comment was made at supply drop 1. You can tell because he’s all wet and gross and…ewe. Kristin’s was made after we returned and were interviewed about the race. She’s all nice and clean. You can tell here words were said in simple lightheartedness. The irony WAS funny!!!

      The puking had me laughing, and I kind of even knew it was coming…but it was definitely well played.

      As for the fire…yeah. I love those ladies, but they didn’t do too much on the survival side of things.

      DUDE! I was SO surprised they edited out just about everything survival and military related!!!

      Lewis. You. Rock!

  8. Susan July 22, 2013 at 6:51 PM #

    Hur- A-Cane!!!!!
    Watched the show, damn near killed the TV when your “partner” threw you all under the bus (or tree, or rock, or whatever). Felt like they probably cut a lot of very good stuff out and could have done without the barfing scene, and was appalled at the guy eating the slug, I was waiting for him to fall off a mountain or something after that. You and Kristen rocked it, and Michael was a real douche the whole time. Too bad you couldn’t have ditched him and gone on, you 2 would have won the money. I hope TNT will do some outtake shows and let us see what went on that didn’t make the original show. And I hope the folks from Amazing race were watching, wouldn’t you and John make an amazing team, you would so win!!!!!
    Anyway, we just kept saying, “that’s our Rita, there’s our Rita or, more often, where the hell is our Rita? It really doesn’t do any of the competitors justice to have 72 hours boiled down to 40 minutes, sad for the viewers and teams as well. I’m sure we weren’t the only ones who wanted MORE of the journey and less about erectile disfunction and new cars. So, come on TNT, give us what we missed!
    if you have a picture of you and me from the lake could you send it to me, somehow I don’t have one and it makes me ill that I don’t.
    Love to you and John, we are so blessed to have spent time with you and are so pleased that you both got so much pleasure from being at the lake and the cabin.
    Take care girl,
    s

    • Hurricane Rita July 23, 2013 at 11:44 PM #

      I keep hearing about the Amazing Race….I’m going to have to make John read all of these comments! I have some pictures of us on the lake. I’ll post them on here soon enough. 🙂 I’ll send them to you as well. Thanks to you and Bud for offering up that amazing, healing place!!!

  9. Susan July 22, 2013 at 6:52 PM #

    Forgot, I would have used the machette on Michael, screw the cameras, he’d have been a lot lighter to get his ass up the mountain!
    s

    • Hurricane Rita July 23, 2013 at 11:45 PM #

      Funny. He actually almost cut my arm with the machete when we allowed him to hold it…they didn’t catch that on camera, though.

  10. Matt Ward July 22, 2013 at 6:52 PM #

    Great Review! You Rock! You did #Milts Proud. I have rafted the new river gorge twice as a milt and the forks in Maine twice (they were weak).

    My desire is to raft Alaska with you as my guide and no one else! Wouldn’t that be an epic rafting trip? You guide a boat of Milts down the river and we come out at the end better than we were at the beginning!

    I’d hire you to work at my company any day! Seems like you can blog! I’ll find a job for you here!!!

    I was bummed that there was no mention of MHS, however I do think you eluded to it during your entry video in saying….Just ask me in LA!

    #BrownAndGold #MiltForLife!

    • Hurricane Rita July 23, 2013 at 11:40 PM #

      So, Matt, ‘did you fall out of the boat when you were rafting’ should be the first question. 😀 I’d love to take you and a boat load of Milts down a river. My lover’s even better on the water, than I…we could team up and take you guys on a trip of a lifetime!!!!!

      I CAN blog!!! Job you say? Hmmmm….Tell me more!

      <3 Milts!

  11. Chad July 22, 2013 at 9:55 PM #

    Hahaha a good, witty and entertaining read by Rita…..I’d write more, bit keeping the thoughts fresh to post your bro’s wheelchair to my page.

    • Hurricane Rita July 23, 2013 at 11:45 PM #

      Yeah! Let’s give my bro his life back!!!

  12. Cathy Wilson July 22, 2013 at 10:38 PM #

    From the beginning of the show we were hooping and hollering for you! We were so excited and i was telling everyone here (my family) that I was worried because the guy on your team looked like such a woss. They kept telling me to just wait and watch the show. We watched you fall out of the raft and was hollering going “oh no” and screaming for ur team to get you back in. When that douse bag lied to yall all of my family looked at me then looked back at the tv and was hollering at him, telling him just what they thought of him.. My son looked at me and sad well u were right. We bout cried when you were crying and talked about what a good person you were for helping the doosh bag up the hill.. I too think he was a plant to slow yall down. No one in there right mind would do something that horrible to there team while working on the same goal. We really really wanted yall to win just so you could get that wheel chair.. maybe thru this fund raiser it will happen. I will do what I can do and Maybe your new friends you met while doing the show will help too! Girl you rock and you deserve only the best and so does your brother!

    • Hurricane Rita July 23, 2013 at 11:48 PM #

      Wow, thank you for your kind words, Cathy! Too funny. Yelling at the TV. My heart was truly broken in that moment they caught on camera. I was realizing that my trust in humanity was being tested in a pretty messed up way. It didn’t make sense that he would lie. It just didn’t make sense that it wasn’t true. I was trying to get it through my head, silently. He was quite the dead weight. I wish I had something nice to say about the dude…but I don’t.

  13. Dianne July 22, 2013 at 10:54 PM #

    Please, please, please apply to The Amazing Race. Would love to see you on it. Either Amazing Race or Survivor.

    • Hurricane Rita July 23, 2013 at 11:41 PM #

      Ok…I won’t do it today, but I’ll talk with John. I’ll talk with Kristin, too…in case John’s less interested. We shall see.

  14. Alicia July 24, 2013 at 8:12 AM #

    Rita you are amazing! Some people may have been scared when you were waving around your machete but all I could do was laugh. I am surprised that they didn’t mention your military service. It was a total bummer that you didn’t win.

    • Hurricane Rita July 27, 2013 at 1:31 PM #

      I laughed after I did it as well! I’m surprised too that they left out my service. Weird thing to “forget.”

Leave a Reply